‘The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer’ by Michelle Hodkin

It’s been a while. So long, in fact, that there has become a void where it used to stay, that need to write. It happens in all the unused parts of our lives, when we let go and say it’s just too much effort to continue doing x, y, or z. But breaks can be good, healing, rejuvenating. So let’s start again…

Despite not writing very much lately, or perhaps because of it, I have done a plethora of reading. It’s inevitable, when you work at the library, to come across some really great titles that capture your attention. Also, I have taken it upon myself to ‘help’ our collections development manager and seek out new titles and suggest he order them. The result is an avalanche of new books coming in for me to read. Heaven!

Despite the number of books I have read lately, none have moved me the way this last one did. I not only plan to use as my ‘Employee pick of the month’ I also MUST share my joy…

Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

‘The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer’ is a young adult novel set  largely in Miami, FL. Mara, the heroine, has suffered a traumatic event that she does not entirely recall, but which killed her friends while leaving her strangely unharmed. Her hallucinations from the PTSD she suffered as a result of the accident follow her when she and her family move to Florida.

She has a difficult time adjusting to her new private school which is full of the requisite bullies and pretty people.  It is here that she meets Noah Shaw whose bad boy reputation makes her wary of him from the start. Their relationship grows and becomes more encompassing, and healing, as the story moves along at break neck speed.

Mara’s dreams/nightmares are allowing her to remember more and more of what happened to her the night her friends died, but it is taking too much time and she is convinced there is something important she’s missing about that night. She’s right. And once she does recover her memories, she is thrust into a whole new set of problems and consequences that must be dealt with immediately.

I love the fact that this book plays with your mind. You are along for the ride with Mara and her hallucinations making what is real and what isn’t is as much a mystery for you as it is for Mara.  As a result, the ending not only comes completely out of nowhere, you also can’t be sure if it’s real. Mara herself is not a reliable witness to what is going on around her, but her sharp wit makes the trip worthwhile.

Another aspect of the story that I really like is the love story between Mara and Noah. It’s shades of ‘Twilight’ with an Edwardesque character who is smart, good looking and rich. Oh yeah, and utterly devoted to the heroine. Be still my heart. Their smoldering sexuality is barely kept under wraps.

Though I highly recommend this book, I must warn you that it is a first in a series, though I have no idea how long the series may turn out to be. It appears to have a love it or hate it quality since the reviews are rarely in the middle. If you decide to read it, please come back and let me know what you think of it. I would love to know how you reacted to the story. As for me, I just can’t get it out of my head….

About Abstract Emoting

Mommy, what is it you do to make your tummy jiggly? That about sums up my life. Welcome to my blog. Enjoy your stay.
This entry was posted in Books and Book 'Reviews' and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

