Bobby Long Concert or Why I’m the luckiest person E-VER!

It’s hard to believe that it has taken me over a week to write this post. Last Friday night was awesome, wonderful and terrific in ways I cannot describe. And the best part? I got to share it with Hubby.

The first thing that happened was getting off from work early. While I enjoy my job, there is still a sense of satisfaction when you can leave it behind for part of a day and say, “I’m off to enjoy a wonderful, work-free afternoon. Toodles!”

Together, Hubby and I drove to see Bobby Long in concert. Our first stop was Criminal Records where Bobby was to play a few songs. This was, for me, the single most important event of the day. I could tell from his schedule and from posts people where putting up, that Bobby was constantly on the move. If I wanted an autograph and picture, it would have to be before the concert. Also, if I wanted to get anywhere near him, this was the chance to do it.

With this in mind, we arrived about twenty minutes before they store suggested I start lining up and bought the requisite album. To see Bobby at the store, you had to buy an album from the store. This meant that Hubby was not going to experience this with me. I already had  ‘A Winter Tale’ and could not justify buying two more, though one more was acceptable.

After making my purchase, we headed to a restaurant where Hubby had dinner and I had fries, which meant that I ate only one bowl of cereal, a bag of puffpopcorn and french fries the entire day. (This is important later on, as you will soon see.) Hubby decided that he would try one of the specialty beers offered at this establishment and we therefore agreed I would be driving to the concert venue.

Meanwhile, I headed back to Criminal Records and set about waiting. Traffic in a large town on a Friday night is a beast to contend with and Bobby was being held from his fans thanks to the snarl that congested the streets. I was not sure what to expect from Bobby, but I will say this- he is taller than I expected. A very pleasant surprise for me since I am taller than many men.

I took this time to video every song he played. His shy banter was nice- it shows he hasn’t turned into the diva many stars are destined to become. He played my favorite song, ‘Dead and Done,’ first, so of course I missed the beginning of it.

Bobby Long autograph

Getting my autograph from Bobby Long.

He also played, ‘Two Years Old,’ ‘Who’ve you been lovin’?’ and ‘Hide yours and I’ll hide mine,’ which means he played quite a bit there. Afterwards, he signed autographs and took pictures with fans. This was where my first debacle of the evening occurred. In an effort to hurry and let others through, I rushed the picture. The result is something I will not show willingly and was immediately upset about. My only opportunity had been squandered.

We left the store to head to the venue. I was afraid it would be really crowded and I wouldn’t be able to get a good spot. Imagine my surprise when the venue looked like a real bar (which it was), complete with a pool table. Cool.

At this point, I asked Hubby if he was going to be sober by the end of the concert. Since we rarely go out and even more rarely drink, I wanted to take advantage of the bar. I was given permission and proceeded to use it. (Remember how much I had eaten during the day?) By the time Bobby took the stage, I was feeling good.

Bobby Long in concert

Bobby singing the last song of the evening.

I wish I could remember the song order, but I don’t. All I know is that I sang along with every song, that I had an awesome time hanging out with Hubby and our friends from the Sam Bradley concert, C and L. I managed to get close to the stage during Bobby’s Last song of the night and get a few more pictures.

After he left the stage, I was saddened because, quite frankly, I did not want this evening to end. My favorite music combined with some of my favorite people, combined with the knowledge that my children were being well looked after- well it just doesn’t get much better. (Except that it did.)

Disheartened by the ending of the evening, I commiserated with C. who thought Bobby MIGHT come out and do some more autographing and picture taking. (Joy! Maybe I could get a retake!) And that is exactly what happened.

As soon as Bobby stepped back into the room, I grabbed C. and we got in line. By this time, I was working on my fourth beer, which is about two over my norm. I am pleasant, but silly when imbibed, and therefore was not paying much attention to what was going on in front of me until C. grabbed my arm and whispered into my ear, ‘It was a great concert. I really love your music. Can I get a picture?’

Bobby Long

Me and Bobby Long

Brought back to reality with a jerk, I began rehearsing my lines as I was next up. I calmly repeated my script and got the picture I wanted. I don’t know if he recognized me or even cared as I mumbled under my breath that the first picture came out horribly.

Home was not far behind after we left. I was grateful for the drive since I was able to sober up sufficiently to go to sleep. The unfortunate part of the whole affair was that realization that I am getting old. Very old. Because it took me three days to recover from one fun evening.

But I have to give many kuddos to Hubby who took pictures and played along with me the whole evening. He made the time we had extra special and I am grateful that he is my life partner.

My final thoughts on Bobby are that he is just as great in person, even better, really, than he is on the album. I love his music; it had me dancing the whole evening. Feel free to check out the videos. The banter is usually at the start of the clip.

Please forgive the shaking. I was excited and couldn’t get my camera out quickly enough…

And I must ask, Who have YOU been lovin’?

A long song about World War I, it’s best heard live.

A song that didn’t make it onto the album. He calls it ‘crap’ but I think it’s pretty good.

And that, folks, is why I’m the luckiest girl in the world!

About Abstract Emoting

Mommy, what is it you do to make your tummy jiggly? That about sums up my life. Welcome to my blog. Enjoy your stay.
This entry was posted in Me, me, me!!! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

