Tags

, , ,

It’s been almost a year now since I launched this site. The first incarnation was one that arose out of an idea for Lent. For the un-initiated, Lent is the time before Easter. Forty days (plus Sundays, which usually makes it 45) of contemplation. There are several celebrations that act as send-offs into a more austere time. Carnival in Rio and Mardi Gras in New Orleans are examples. Our family usually has a pancake supper. (Traditionally, this was to use up all the butter and sweets in the house as you were to fast during the Lenten period. Now, it’s a chance for youth group fund raisers. Pancake suppers are super easy.)

clipping couponsSo my original blog was an idea borne out of the need to save money. Clipping coupons and planning out each meal was not cutting it. Something more needed to be done. And I came up with the idea to use Lent as a time where the family would not eat out. It was to be our Lenten discipline. Hubby agreed as long as it was for Lent only.

We did fairly well, eating out only twice during the entire period. I got adept at finding good deals, though I rarely made it under budget. (I blame the diapers for budget busting.) Of course, we went back to our licentious ways as soon as Lent was over. We still eat out more often than we should. And my coupon clipping has not regained that same momentum.

The blog did not actually survive the experiment. About half way in, I found it exhausting, keeping up with all the stuff I wanted to share- coupon clipping strategies, meal planning tips and of course, my reflections on the season of Lent. And so the blog languished until its second incarnation as ‘Abstract Emoting.’

In some ways, that makes this a one year anniversary, but since my relationship with this blog has been  on-again, off-again, let’s just say we got back together in August and call it six months. And six months is something in this biz, according to what I’ve read.

happy anniversaryThank you to all my readers who have stuck by me so far. Here’s to another six months!

