My idea of housework is to sweep the room with a glance.

 

Monica, Chandler, Friends, The One with the Closet

'I'm married to Fred Sanford!'

In the episode of Friends, ‘The One with the Secret Closet,’ Chandler finds out that the super-clean queen, Monica, has a secret closet. Full of junk. Most people have a junk drawer, sometimes maybe more than one. I am like Monica, I have a junk ROOM. It was once called the office where we placed our computer, printer and many ‘important’ papers. Currently, you can’t get into the room. Or rather, you can, but only on tiptoe (there isn’t enough space for your whole foot to meet the ground) and only by taking large ‘steps’ to find mostly empty places to stand in.

 

This was not the plan and I have discussed my inability to keep my home clean before. Always, my intent is to clean this section of the house and then to use it often enough that it would be inadvisable to become so cluttered. No matter my original goals, the room becomes a dumping ground for bills, stuff that needs to be shredded, anything that doesn’t have a place in the rest of the house. Currently, there are also toys that should have been donated before Christmas located in various boxes in the ‘office’ which the boys pilfer when they are bored of what they have in their bedroom.

It is disheartening to me as a stay at home mom whose ‘only’ job is keeping the house clean (and keeping the clothes done, kids fed…but I don’t get all that done by myself, either) that I cannot seem to keep this one very important room from becoming a dumping ground. Part of my problem stems from a lack of motivation. Oh, I may have every intention of cleaning that room when I wake in the morning, but upon entering the abyss, I lose all energy and find myself slumped in front of the computer, trying not to look to either side of me at the piles of paper and various other clutter and useless accumulated junk.

This is one of the many reasons I end up at my beloved local coffee shop. It soothes my soul and means I can ignore my responsibility for a little while since it is not in sight. (Out of sight, out of mind!) I am convinced I am not the only one with this (literally) dirty secret.

I’m not the only one, right?messy room sign

About Abstract Emoting

Mommy, what is it you do to make your tummy jiggly? That about sums up my life. Welcome to my blog. Enjoy your stay.
This entry was posted in The Daily Grind and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My idea of housework is to sweep the room with a glance.

  1. Galit Breen says:

    Of course you’re not the only one! At our house it’s the mud room. I HATE that it’s like that! BTW, I loved that Friends episode! 🙂

  2. Kerstin Blum says:

    I hear you, my dear friend! I don’t even have kids or a spouse I could blame part of my sloppiness on… for a while now I haven’t been able to fold the washed laudry and to put it in the closet… thus my bed is surrounded by baskets of washed laundry… at least it’s washed, right? 😉

    • Washed is way better than mine was until recently. It only took me 20 full loads of laundry to mostly catch up. The problem for me blaming the rest of my family is that it would be hypocritical. I can remember my apartment looking the exact same way when you and I first met. Back then it was just me and Hubby. Strangely, we had very little in terms of material items, but we managed to have a devastatingly messy home. It’s only intensified with kids.
      Let’s be proud in our filth, shall we?

      • Kerstin Blum says:

        Oh definitely! Here comes filfh-pride! 😉
        The odd thing with me is that there were times in my life when I managed to keep my stuff organized and clean. Had one day of the week when I took out the trash, cleaned the apartment, did the laundry, … haven’t been able to get myself into a proper schedule again for some time.
        I think that’s my main problem: not living by a rough schedule messes up my life… literally! :))

      • Schedules are evil and undermine your self-esteem. Of course, I’ve never had a real schedule, so what do I know? 😉

  3. Mom says:

    I had to laugh when you wrote about foot space in the room. With the size of your feet…. lol Mamaw Kirkland taught me to “do (work/chore) what you hate most first, and the rest is a piece of cake.” It really does help make the later stuff get done more quickly.

Leave a Reply

