There may be times when we are powerless to prevent injustice, but never a time when we fail to protest – Elie Wiesel

Red CrossOnce a week, I go to the church I attend and help a fellow parishner as he gives financial aid and help to those in need. He is constrained by how much and how often people can ask for assistance, but people show up twice a week in search of help. Sometimes he has to turn them away, sometimes he can help with bills by calling and negotiating for them. It breaks my heart.

Once a month, I head to the food pantry where I give out bags of food. It’s another heartbreak to see families asking for assistance to feed their children.

Most people feel overwhelmed when it comes to volunteering. It’s not like we don’t already have a ton of things to do. Work and family is usually too much for many of us without piling on more commitments. The only reason I can currently volunteer like this is because I am a stay at home mom. As soon as I find a job that pays outside of the home, I will not be able to do as much. It will mean Saturday volunteering. But there are other ways we can help others less fortunate.

The American Red Cross has a solid history of service to those in need. On the side of this blog you will find a way to donate to the Red Cross. Just click on the link and fill out a few questionnaires. I’ve done a few. Sometimes they ask for more information than I want to give, so I come back at another time and do a different survey. In addition to hosting them here, I also have an account with Plus3Network where I have put in my workout schedule. As I exercise, sponsors donate money. It’s a win/win. Want to join me? Donate here or go to Plus3Network and start an exercise program to begin donating.

And if you can’t donate, here’s my plug for volunteering: Volunteer! Are you feeling low? Volunteer. Do you want to meet people? Volunteer. Would you like to make a positive impact on someone’s life? Volunteer. It’s the right thing to do.

About Abstract Emoting

Mommy, what is it you do to make your tummy jiggly? That about sums up my life. Welcome to my blog. Enjoy your stay.
This entry was posted in This is totally serious business, guys! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

