Tags

, , , ,

A few weeks ago, just before Christmas, I got a full day all to myself. It was a wonderful day, filled with doing only what I wanted to do- no deadlines, no extra people hanging around. I spent over an hour in a restraunt, eating and looking out the window at the rain. It was awesome.

On my way to the concert I was singing in that evening, I was listening to NPR and heard this song by Randy Newman. I’m not sure, but I think Nina Simone sang the version I heard. Unfortunately, you have to watch that one on YouTube. I’ve added Randy himself and the lyrics just below if you want to stay on this site. Enjoy…

Broken windows and empty hallways
A pale dead moon in the sky streaked with gray
Human kindness is overflowing
And I think it’s going to rain today

Scarecrows dressed in the latest styles
With frozen smiles to chase love away
Human kindness is overflowing
And I think it’s going to rain today

Lonely, lonely
Tin can at my feet
Think I’ll kick it down the street
That’s the way to treat a friend

Bright before me the signs implore me
To help the needy and show them the way
Human kindness is overflowing
And I think it’s going to rain today

