‘I’m a fan of inappropriate.’ -Michelle

My original idea for this post was going to be about the fact that middle class, bourgeois society in the southern states is not quite as staid and boring as those in the rest of the country think. But I must confess, what was more important in my adventure last night was not that we were stepping outside of our prescribed roles – it was the presence and camaraderie of other women.

This was my first night out with these women, ranging in age from 23 to 37, only one of whom I knew. August is her birthday month and so last night was a special treat. We went to ‘Drag Queen Bingo’ where for $10 we played about 7 games of bingo- numbers called out by a very engaging Ms. Deonna Sage– drank free cosmos and were treated to a wonderful drag show.

I was giddy with excitement for a real Girl’s Night Out and the rest of the group kindly took my enthusiasm in stride, allowing me at times to babble on, such was my thrill at real, adult conversation. At the end of the evening, we began to discuss more weighty concerns, finding solidarity in our political and social values. It became painfully clear to me that since staying home with my children I had neglected a vital part of my life- to engage in both serious discussion and light hearted fun with other people who share similar goals and aspirations.

It’s a difficult balance to be struck in life. There are times when you must focus on things which are not as pleasant for you, there are times when you must focus on many more things than you are capable of and then there are times when you can do what you wish. After you have children, I think many of you can guess what stage you will be in. It’s not disagreeable, you just have different priorities.

Thank you, to my new friends. I look forward to many more Girl’s Nights Out.

And now presenting Ms. Deonna Sage….

About Abstract Emoting

Mommy, what is it you do to make your tummy jiggly? That about sums up my life. Welcome to my blog. Enjoy your stay.
This entry was posted in Best of the best AKA 'the posts I like', Me, me, me!!! and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ‘I’m a fan of inappropriate.’ -Michelle

  1. tuckba says:

    Adam/Deonna is from Dublin, GA (I found that out by watching the video you posted). Dublin is 30 minutes away from my hometown of Cochran, Georgia. I have family that lives in Dublin and I’ve spent a lot of time in that town. It was really cool to find out that Deonna is from there! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  2. tuckba says:

    I had a blast! 🙂

  3. Chuck D says:

    Hey Lois
    I’m diggin’ it!

    -Chuck D

Leave a Reply

